The BFA’s 2024 National Franchise Survey put UK franchising at £19.1 billion across 1,009 systems and 50,421 units, with 89% of units reported profitable. What brands screen for before any of that reaches a new franchisee varies enormously: some UK franchisors state that no sector experience is needed, others ask for £2 million in liquid assets. This guide sets out what the criteria actually are.
There is no franchise statute in the UK, no register of franchisees and no licence to hold. Anyone legally able to run a business can, in principle, become a franchisee. In practice, the filter sits with the franchisor, and it is applied before a franchise agreement is offered. The criteria are published brand by brand; they differ by an order of magnitude across sectors, and they fall into three groups: capital, experience, and the willingness to run someone else’s system rather than one’s own.
What UK franchisors screen candidates on
Recruitment criteria are set by each franchisor and published on its own franchise-recruitment pages. No regulator reviews them and no standard format applies, so they are stated in different terms from one brand to the next. Across UK networks, the recurring screens are these.
- Capital, split two ways : the total investment, and separately the proportion of it the candidate holds in their own unborrowed funds, usually described as liquid capital or personal investment.
- Sector experience, where the brand asks for it : stated as essential by some franchisors and explicitly waived by others.
- Willingness to operate the system as supplied : the franchise agreement sets out the operating standards, and the manual is normally incorporated by reference into it.
- Working hours and trading pattern : retail and hospitality formats trade at weekends and evenings; home-based service formats do not, and the 2024 survey recorded 50% of franchisees operating from home.
- Growth intent : several UK franchisors state a preference for candidates who intend to run more than one unit.
Pip Wilkins, chief executive of the British Franchise Association, describes the experience screen as the one that surprises candidates most. “Franchisees don’t need prior knowledge of the sector,” she notes. “The franchisor will teach them everything they need to know, but they must have tenacity and the ability to follow the franchise model.” That holds for a large part of the market, though not for all of it, as the published criteria below show.
What named UK franchisors ask of a candidate
The spread below is drawn from what each brand publishes on its own franchise pages. It is the clearest available answer to the question of who qualifies, because it shows that “the right candidate” is not one profile but several, separated by sector and by scale.
| Brand | Experience stated as required | Published entry figures |
|---|---|---|
| ChipsAway | None; training provided | From £20,000 own funds; £29,995 + VAT total |
| Caremark | No care experience required | 4.5% ongoing service fee |
| Signs Express | No industry experience required | From £65,000 |
| Right at Home UK | Not stated as a sector requirement | Franchise fee £33,500 + VAT; total up to £145,000 |
| Greene King, Hive Pubs | Pub or hospitality management experience essential | £5,000 upfront plus up to £3,000 working capital |
| Snap Fitness UK and Ireland | Not stated as a sector requirement | £30,000 licence fee; £250,000 to £300,000 own capital |
| KFC UK | Previous hospitality and food and beverage operating knowledge | £5 million assets, £2 million liquid |
| Pret a Manger | Running an F&B concept with turnover over £10 million | Net worth over £7 million; liquid assets £3.5 million |
Two things follow from that table. The first is that capital and experience do not move together: Greene King‘s Hive Pubs model asks £5,000 upfront but states hospitality management experience as essential, while ChipsAway asks for £20,000 of own funds and states on its franchise FAQ that no experience is necessary. The second is that at the top of the market the screen stops being about aptitude at all. KFC UK‘s development FAQ lists previous hospitality and food and beverage operating knowledge alongside growth ambitions across the UK and Ireland, and the brand has periods when it is not recruiting individual franchisees at all.
How much capital candidates are asked to hold
No public or official UK source publishes an average franchise start-up cost. Neither gov.uk, HMRC, the ONS nor the Department for Business and Trade breaks franchising out, and no SIC code corresponds to a franchised business. What exists instead is the per-brand figure above, plus one published indication on how the funding is normally split.
The British Business Bank‘s Start Up Loans guidance states that with established franchise brands the franchisee will need to provide at least thirty per cent of the total business set-up costs including working capital. Lenders may therefore fund up to around 70% for an established brand. The phrase “including working capital” is the part most often dropped when that figure is repeated, and it moves the number substantially: the 30% is calculated on the cost of trading to breakeven, not on the fit-out alone.
Start Up Loans themselves are government-backed, run by a British Business Bank subsidiary. The terms are a maximum of £25,000 per applicant, fixed interest at 7.5% a year for applications from 6 April 2026, a term of one to five years, no arrangement fee and no early repayment fee. Each owner may apply individually to a maximum of £100,000 per business, and eligibility now extends to businesses trading for up to 60 months.
What liquid capital means in a UK franchise offer
Franchise recruitment pages routinely carry four different numbers, and they differ by an order of magnitude. The initial franchise fee is paid to the franchisor for the right to trade under the brand. The total investment covers everything needed to open. The minimum liquid capital is the unborrowed portion the candidate holds personally. The working capital funds trading until the unit breaks even. A figure quoted without saying which of the four it is cannot be compared against another brand’s.
The traits the sector describes, and the ones it warns about
Beyond the published thresholds, franchisors and recruiters describe a consistent set of attributes. Simon Wise, founder of FranRec Ltd, frames it in terms of the cycle a new franchisee goes through rather than a checklist. “The ideal franchisee has drive, determination, grit, and entrepreneurial flair,” he explains. “They also need to be resilient because franchisees go through a very defined life cycle with challenges along the way.”
The tension the trade returns to most often is between that entrepreneurial flair and the requirement to run the system as supplied. A franchise agreement typically obliges the franchisee to operate to the franchisor’s standards, which leaves the commercial judgement over the format with the franchisor. Recruiters describe candidates who intend to redesign the offer as a poor fit for the model, whatever their track record.
Lifestyle fit is the second recurring mismatch, and it is a function of the format rather than the person. Retail and hospitality units trade at weekends; mobile and home-based formats generally do not. “If your weekends are important to you, retail is not the right franchise,” Wise points out. The 2024 survey’s finding that half of UK franchisees work from home reflects how far the model has moved away from the high street unit since 2018.
What a candidate can verify about a franchisor
Franchising in the UK is governed by general contract and competition law. There is no statutory pre-contract disclosure requirement and no document a franchisor is obliged to hand over. Due diligence therefore runs on public filings and on the network itself.
- Companies House filings : accounts, directors, charges and the filing history of the franchisor company are public, and they establish whether the company is solvent and who controls it;
- Existing and former franchisees : the only source on what the support actually amounts to day to day;
- The franchisor’s own published figures : fees, total investment, term and management service fee, which are franchisor-supplied and checked by no regulator;
- BFA membership and the Code of Ethics for Franchising : the Code asks members to have operated the concept successfully for at least one year in at least one pilot unit before franchising it, though it binds voluntary members only and carries no statutory sanction;
- The agreement itself : territory, term, renewal, transfer and post-term restrictions sit in the contract rather than in any statute.
Wilkins points to the network as the more revealing of these. “A good franchisor profits from your long-term success, not just from selling you the franchise,” she explains. “Research their support system and speak to existing franchisees to get a realistic understanding of the day-to-day challenges.”
There is no cooling-off period on a UK franchise agreement
A franchisee is not a consumer in law, so consumer cancellation rights do not apply, and the BFA Code contains no cooling-off provision either. The narrow exception sits in the Trading Schemes Act 1996, which catches some multi-level arrangements. Where a franchisee has been induced to sign by an inaccurate pre-contract statement, the remedy is misrepresentation rather than cancellation.
Which sectors are recruiting
The 2024 National Franchise Survey recorded the sharpest movement in two sectors since 2018. Personal services grew 53%, a category running from domiciliary care to children’s activity classes, and hotel and catering grew 34%. Two sectors contracted over the same period: transport and vehicle services by 34%, and store retailing by 25%.
Personal services, the fastest-growing UK franchise sector
Growth recorded between the 2018 and 2024 surveys, covering domiciliary care, tutoring and children’s activity franchises. Over the same period store retailing contracted by 25%. (Source: BFA, 2024 National Franchise Survey)
That movement matters to a candidate because it changes which experience is being asked for. A growing care and children’s-activities segment recruits from people with no sector background, since the franchisor supplies the operating model and the compliance framework. A contracting retail segment recruits fewer people and, where it does, tends to look for operators who already run units. Anyone weighing a specific format can compare it against the practical requirements set out in the guides to setting up a gym or opening a pub, or browse franchise brands recruiting in the UK by investment level.
The bottom line
There is no single profile of a qualifying UK franchise candidate. The published criteria run from £5,000 and hospitality management experience for a Greene King Hive pub to £7 million of net worth for a Pret territory, and several service franchisors state that no sector experience is needed at all. What is consistent across the market is the structure of the screen: a capital threshold split between total investment and unborrowed funds, a stated position on experience, and an expectation that the system will be run as supplied. Those are published brand by brand, and they are checkable before any agreement is signed.
Frequently asked questions about qualifying as a UK franchisee
It depends entirely on the brand, and each franchisor publishes its own position. ChipsAway states on its franchise FAQ that no experience is necessary and that training is provided; Caremark and Signs Express state the same for their sectors. KFC UK’s development FAQ, by contrast, lists previous hospitality and food and beverage operating knowledge as a requirement, and Greene King states pub or hospitality management experience as essential for its Hive Pubs model.
There is no published UK average, because no official statistical series breaks out franchised businesses. The citable figures are what each franchisor publishes: Greene King’s Hive Pubs model states £5,000 upfront plus up to £3,000 working capital, while Pret a Manger states net worth over £7 million and liquid assets of £3.5 million. On the funding split, the British Business Bank’s Start Up Loans guidance indicates that franchisees of established brands provide at least thirty per cent of set-up costs including working capital.
No general cooling-off right applies. A franchisee is not a consumer in law, so consumer cancellation rights are unavailable, and the BFA Code of Ethics for Franchising contains no cooling-off provision. The one narrow exception arises under the Trading Schemes Act 1996, which catches certain multi-level arrangements. Where a pre-contract statement was inaccurate, the franchisee’s remedy runs through misrepresentation rather than cancellation.
It circulates widely but traces to no published methodology, and it is the inverse of a commercial failure rate reported within a trade association’s own member survey. No official UK statistic measures franchise failure: no SIC code corresponds to a franchised business, and the Department for Business and Trade’s Business Population Estimates carry no franchise table. The BFA describes its survey as an online poll of its franchisor and franchisee members, and publishes no sample size.











