Opens in a new tab

RED Driving School

Non-Client of L'Express FranchiseDriving instructor franchise with prepaid pupils.

Financial Plan

Liquid capital

The amount you need to secure the necessary loans.

Not disclosed

Total investment

Total Investment to launch the business, including initial fees (Not disclosed)

Not disclosed

The Concept

A driving instructor franchise where every pupil prepays, voted National Driving School of the Year

RED Driving School is a national driving school that works through franchised driving instructors, run by RDS Driving Services Ltd. It was voted National Driving School of the Year in 2024, and focuses on quality lessons rather than the cheapest prices.

Its main selling point for instructors is prepayment: every RED customer prepays, and RED collects lesson fees on the instructor’s behalf, so franchisees do not have to chase payment, negotiate prices or absorb no-shows. An Instructor Services team, many of them ADIs themselves, supports franchisees day to day.

Two ways to join

RED offers a Brand Franchise for instructors who already have a suitable training car, and a Full Franchise that includes a car through RED’s own vehicle deals. A small bond is required, which can be built up over the first few weeks.

An independent 2024 survey by FBTC, an accountancy firm specialising in driving instructors, sampled more than 150 RED instructors: 97% said they were satisfied with their job and more than 80% would recommend a RED franchise. RED also trains new driving instructors separately for those not yet qualified.

learn to drive red logo

Frequently Asked Questions

RED’s Brand Franchise costs £99 a week for instructors who already have a suitable training car. Its Full Franchise, which includes a car through RED’s vehicle deals, is priced on request. A small bond is also required and can be built up over the first few weeks.

An independent 2024 survey by FBTC, an accountancy firm specialising in driving instructors, found that RED instructors achieve average gross weekly income of £1,110, with an average hourly rate above £37. These are gross figures, before the franchise fee, fuel and other costs.

Yes. RED says 100% of its customers prepay, and it collects lesson fees on the instructor’s behalf, so instructors do not have to chase payment, haggle over prices or lose income to no-shows.

The RED franchise is aimed at approved driving instructors (ADIs). People who are not yet qualified can train with RED’s separate driving instructor training programme first.

The Brand Franchise is for instructors who already have a suitable training car and costs £99 a week. The Full Franchise includes a car through RED’s exclusive vehicle deals.

An Instructor Services team with more than 200 years of combined industry experience, many of them ADIs, along with pupil supply and payment collection.

In FBTC’s 2024 survey of more than 150 RED instructors, 97% said they were satisfied with their job and more than 80% would recommend a RED franchise.

RED was voted National Driving School of the Year in 2024.

Close Icon