Opens in a new tab
icon / 24x24 / ic24-trending-up

Most searched right now

Gould Barbers

Non-Client of L'Express FranchiseBarbershops inside Tesco, on high streets and in pods.

Financial Plan

Liquid capital

The amount you need to secure the necessary loans.

Not disclosed

Total investment

Total Investment to launch the business, including initial fees (Not disclosed)

Not disclosed

The Concept

Implantations
50+ barbershops in the UK

A barbershop franchise with the in-store partnership of Tesco, from a family of barbers

Gould Barbers is a family barbering business that began in King’s Lynn, where its founders trained under their father, Marcus, in his own eight-chair barbershop. They have been cutting hair for more than 25 years and now run more than 50 barbershops across the UK, which the company describes as the UK’s largest barbering brand.

Its growth has been built on a partnership with Tesco: Gould Barbers is the retailer’s exclusive in-store barbering partner, starting with a first shop at Tesco Hardwick, and has added a Tesco Clubcard partnership and a training academy in King’s Lynn. The company reports more than 55,000 clients a month and £10 million in annual sales across its shops.

Five ways into the franchise

Gould Barbers offers several franchise models. The Tesco in-store shop is its flagship, relying on supermarket footfall and free parking. Pod shops are modular, self-contained barbershops for retail park car parks and forecourts. The high street model suits new openings or existing barbershops converting to the brand, while a premium concept targets affluent areas and is being rolled out in Central London.

For investors who want no day-to-day role, a fully managed option lets the franchisee own a Gould Barbers shop while the company handles recruitment, operations and performance. Barbering skills are not required: Gould trains franchisees and their teams in management, technical skills and service, finds and fits out the site through a turnkey process, and assigns each franchisee a defined territory.

gould blue industrial badge logo

Frequently Asked Questions

Gould Barbers does not publish its franchise fee or investment. It says investment levels vary depending on location and size, and that candidates receive a clear breakdown of all costs before they commit. Its turnkey fit-out process is designed to keep set-up costs predictable.

Yes. Gould Barbers says every franchise partner has the potential to access at least 50% funding through its trusted finance partners, who understand the business model.

No. Gould Barbers says a passion for service and business is essential, but you do not need to be a barber yourself. It trains franchisees and their teams in management, technical skills and service.

Five: a barbershop inside a Tesco store, a modular pod shop for retail parks and forecourts, a traditional high street shop (including conversions of existing barbershops), a premium concept for affluent areas and Central London, and a fully managed option where Gould runs the shop on the owner’s behalf.

Gould Barbers does not publish an average per shop. It reports £10 million in annual sales across its network and says its top location takes more than £60,000 a month. Spread across more than 50 shops, network sales point to an average of £200,000 a year or less per shop; this is a derived figure, not one the company publishes.

Gould Barbers is Tesco’s exclusive in-store barbering partner. Its shops inside Tesco stores benefit from supermarket footfall and free parking, and it has added a Tesco Clubcard partnership.

Typically a few months from signing the franchise agreement to opening day, depending on site availability and the fit-out schedule, according to Gould Barbers.

Yes. Each franchisee is given a defined territory so that its investment is protected within its local market.

You represent Gould Barbers?

Complete the missing information and review your details.

Close Icon