Opens in a new tab

Bill Plant Driving

Non-Client of L'Express FranchiseOpen a Bill Plant Franchise - Fixed Weekly Fee

Financial Plan

Liquid capital

The amount you need to secure the necessary loans.

Not disclosed

Total investment

Total Investment to launch the business, including initial fees (Not disclosed)

Not disclosed

The Concept

A family-run driving school franchise with a Volkswagen tuition car and one fixed weekly fee

Bill Plant Driving School is a family-run national driving school that works through franchised Approved Driving Instructors. It won National Driving School of the Year at the Intelligent Instructor Awards for the third year running in 2025, along with Training Provider of the Year, and was highly commended for Fleet of the Year in the category for fleets of more than 1,000 vehicles at the Fleet News Awards 2025.

Every franchisee receives a Volkswagen tuition vehicle, with instructor insurance, servicing and maintenance covered by a single fixed weekly fee. Bill Plant says there are no surprise charges, so instructors know exactly what they will pay each week.

A franchise built on flexibility

Bill Plant instructors have complete control over where, when and how much they work, with no minimum hours, and they set their own lesson prices. The company says its instructors earn £36 an hour on average and that more than 60% of its franchisees are fully booked.

Pupils come through Bill Plant’s national marketing, its social media following of more than 42,000 and an “Excellent” Trustpilot rating, and the company supplies local marketing materials. It also trains new driving instructors, including through a trainee franchise for those working towards qualification.

bill plant driving school logo

Frequently Asked Questions

Bill Plant charges a fixed weekly franchise fee, which it says does not fluctuate and carries no surprise charges, but it does not publish the amount. The fee covers a Volkswagen tuition car, instructor insurance, servicing and maintenance.

Bill Plant says its instructors earn £36 an hour on average, and that working 30 hours a week for 48 weeks a year could bring in upwards of £50,000. That is the company’s own calculation of gross earnings, before the franchise fee and fuel.

No. Bill Plant says franchisees do not pay separately for instructor insurance; the only payment is the weekly franchise fee, which covers insurance, servicing and maintenance.

Yes. Bill Plant says there is no minimum number of hours, and instructors have complete control over where, when and how much they work.

Bill Plant supplies local marketing materials and helps source pupils through its nationwide marketing if instructors need more students. It says more than 60% of its franchisees are fully booked.

Every Bill Plant driving instructor receives a Volkswagen tuition vehicle as part of the franchise.

The main franchise is for fully qualified Approved Driving Instructors. Bill Plant also offers driving instructor training and a trainee franchise for people working towards qualification.

Close Icon