Opens in a new tab

AA Driving School

Non-Client of L'Express FranchiseA dual-control car, insurance and pupils, weekly.

Financial Plan

Liquid capital

The amount you need to secure the necessary loans.

Not disclosed

Total investment

Total Investment to launch the business, including initial fees (Not disclosed)

Not disclosed

The Concept

A driving instructor franchise with a dual-control car, insurance and pupil introductions from The AA

AA Driving School is the driving instruction arm of The AA, run by Automobile Association Developments Ltd. It offers franchise packages for qualified driving instructors and a trainee route for people working towards qualification, with tuition cars from manufacturers including Ford, Mini, Peugeot and Volkswagen, in petrol, diesel or electric and manual or automatic.

Every package includes a dual-control car with insurance, maintenance, MOT, tyre replacement and AA breakdown cover, plus a mileage allowance of 48,750 miles a year. Franchisees also receive an AA Shell Card offering discounts on fuel and EV charging.

Solo or All-inclusive

The All-inclusive franchise adds AA branding, pupil introductions and the AA Instructor App for managing pupils and bookings. The Solo package is aimed at established independent instructors who want a well-equipped, unbranded dual-control car while keeping their own brand.

Both run on 12 or 24-month contracts. For people not yet qualified, The AA’s trainee franchise lets them teach and earn while working towards the final Part 3 test, and it says its 2024 trainees passed Part 2 in seven months on average. The franchise also offers routes into specialist work such as instructor training, Motability and HGV driving.

aa driving school logo on yellow background

Frequently Asked Questions

The All-inclusive franchise costs from £201 a week and the car-only Solo package from £181 a week, both including VAT. A £180 non-refundable admin fee and a £170 deposit are payable on sign-up, and contracts run for 12 or 24 months.

An AA-branded dual-control car with insurance, maintenance, MOT, tyre replacement and AA breakdown cover, a mileage allowance of 48,750 miles a year, pupil introductions, and the AA Instructor App for managing pupils and bookings.

A car-only package for established independent instructors: an unbranded dual-control car with insurance, maintenance and breakdown cover, without AA branding or pupil introductions, so you can keep your own brand.

Yes. The AA’s trainee franchise lets people teach and earn while working towards the final Part 3 test. It says trainees who enrolled in 2024 passed Part 2 in seven months on average.

Dual-control cars from manufacturers including Ford, Mini, Peugeot and Volkswagen, in petrol, diesel or electric, and in manual or automatic, subject to availability.

Twelve or 24 months, with a notice period of 12 weeks before the end of the term.

Yes. BSM is a trading name of Automobile Association Developments Ltd, the company behind AA Driving School, and its franchise packages are offered on the same terms.

Yes. The AA says franchisees can move into areas such as driving instructor training, teaching pupils with disabilities through the Motability scheme, and training HGV and emergency services drivers.

Close Icon