icon / 24x24 / ic24-trending-up

Most searched right now

Fractured Prune Doughnuts Relaunches Franchise Program: What to Know in 2026

5 Min. reading time
colorful frosted donuts close up macro shot

Made-to-order doughnuts are a rarity in a sector dominated by batch-produced chains, and Fractured Prune Doughnuts has built a 50-year identity around that distinction. After pausing active franchise development to overhaul its legal infrastructure, the Ocean City, Maryland-born brand relaunched its franchise program in 2026 with a freshly filed FDD and an active prospect pipeline. Here is what the franchise brand’s model looks like and what its franchise program currently involves.

Founded in Ocean City, Maryland in the mid-1970s, Fractured Prune Doughnuts operates 15 locations and is classified under the FTC Franchise Rule, 16 CFR Part 436, as a franchisor: it licenses its trademark, exerts operational control over franchisee methods, and collects fees from franchisees.

The brand completed a new Franchise Disclosure Document in March 2026, formally reopening the franchise program under current CEO Danny Windon after a period during which active recruiting had been paused to rebuild the brand’s franchise infrastructure.

Fractured Prune Doughnuts is a fast-casual concept specializing in doughnuts fried to order and customized with glazes and dry toppings. Each doughnut is prepared in front of the customer, with no pre-production or display-case holding.

The menu offers dozens of glaze combinations, including Old Bay Caramel and seasonal or regional options, with thousands of possible combinations. While the made-to-order model requires more labor per transaction, it emphasizes freshness and customization.

Fractured Prune Doughnuts

Logo

Fractured Prune Doughnuts

Always Hot Doughnuts. All Ways

  • Restaurant
  • 15
  • Liquid capital: $200000

I want more info

Yes. Fractured Prune Doughnuts offers franchise opportunities in the United States. Under the FTC Franchise Rule (16 CFR Part 436), its model meets the three elements defining a franchise: use of the brand’s trademark, significant control or assistance over operations, and required franchise fees exceeding $500 within six months of opening.

Good to know

Under the FTC Franchise Rule, a franchisor must deliver the FDD to a prospective franchisee at least 14 calendar days before the prospect signs any binding agreement or pays any money. This is a disclosure period, not a federal right of withdrawal: there is no federal cooling-off right for franchise purchases. Several states add their own registration or filing requirements before a franchise can be offered there.

Fractured Prune relaunched its franchise program in 2026 after updating its FDD, operational systems and franchisee support infrastructure. Since the relaunch, the brand reports more than 100 inquiries, narrowed to about 45 candidates actively in the evaluation process.

Its expansion focus is the East Coast, Florida and tourist destinations, reflecting the concept’s coastal roots and emphasis on high-traffic locations.

The brand’s 2026 FDD, filed in March, is the authoritative source for franchise costs. Items 5, 6 and 7 cover the initial franchise fee, ongoing fees and estimated initial investment, respectively. As of September 2026, Fractured Prune has not publicly disclosed specific investment figures.

Prospective franchisees should request the FDD directly, as it provides the detailed breakdown of buildout, equipment, signage, inventory, training and working capital costs.

Good to know

Item 19 of the FDD, which covers financial performance representations, is optional under the Franchise Rule. A franchisor may legally publish no earnings figure at all. When Item 19 is present, the figures describe past outlet performance for a defined set of locations over a defined period, not a projection or a guarantee for future operators.

For a U.S. franchise brand subject to the FTC Franchise Rule, the evaluation process typically follows several steps. The candidate submits an inquiry and profile, after which the franchisor reviews their qualifications and, if approved, provides the FDD. This starts the mandatory 14-day waiting period, during which candidates typically review the FDD with a franchise attorney, speak with the franchisor and contact existing franchisees listed in Item 20. If both sides proceed, the franchise agreement is signed and the initial franchise fee is paid.

Fractured Prune has not publicly disclosed its specific candidate criteria, but the brand is seeking operators for tourist-oriented and East Coast markets who can manage its made-to-order model.


Frequently asked questions about the Fractured Prune Doughnuts franchise

Yes. Fractured Prune Doughnuts is an active US franchisor. The brand filed a new Franchise Disclosure Document in March 2026, formally reopening its franchise program after a period during which active development had been paused. Prospective franchisees can submit an inquiry through the brand’s official website to begin the evaluation process.

The specific initial investment range has not been publicly disclosed. The brand’s 2026 Franchise Disclosure Document, filed in March 2026, contains Item 7 (estimated initial investment), Item 5 (initial franchise fee), and Item 6 (ongoing fees). Candidates who request the FDD directly from Fractured Prune Doughnuts receive the full itemized breakdown covering buildout, equipment, training, and working capital for the initial operating period.

The brand’s stated priority markets for its 2026 franchise relaunch are the East Coast, Florida, and tourist-destination locations. This reflects the brand’s origins in Ocean City, Maryland, and its history of performing in coastal, high-foot-traffic leisure environments. As of September 2026, approximately 45 serious candidates are engaged in the brand’s evaluation process, with no specific markets publicly confirmed.

This content is provided for informational purposes only and does not constitute legal, tax, financial, or professional advice. Laws and regulations vary by state and individual circumstances and may change over time. Readers should consult a qualified attorney, tax professional, or other licensed professional regarding their specific situation. Nothing herein creates an attorney-client relationship.

You may also like

vibrant fruit and juice still life
Jamba Franchise System Records 130 Terminations Over Three Years

Jamba, the smoothie franchise chain owned by GoTo Foods, terminated, ...

weathered blue house with bare birch trees
“We Buy Ugly Houses” Franchisee Sentenced to 15 Years for $39M Fraud

Charles Carrier, president of a Dallas-based HomeVestors franchise operating under ...

united states capitol front facade and dome
Trump Administration Backs American Franchise Act as 2026 Priority

The Trump administration has declared the American Franchise Act a ...

mcdonald’s restaurant exterior with roadside sign
McDonald’s Commits $8.5 Billion to Support U.S. Franchisees Through 2036

McDonald’s has unveiled an $8.5 billion franchisee support program running ...

indian fried snacks with curry and chutneys
Mike’s Red Tacos Signs 15-Unit Michigan Deal With a Seasoned Multi-Brand Operator

Mike’s Red Tacos, the San Diego-born birria franchise concept now ...

dave’s hot chicken storefront with red sign
Dave’s Hot Chicken Franchisee Files Chapter 11 and Countersues Its Bank Over a $30 Million Deal

One of the Dave’s Hot Chicken franchise system’s multi-brand operators ...

chili’s restaurant exterior with accessible entrance
Chili’s Clears Its Growth Runway: Brinker Targets 30 New Restaurants a Year by 2029

Four years after launching its turnaround under CEO Kevin Hochman, ...

chick fil a express counter with menu boards
Chick-fil-A Plans Nine New Locally Owned Restaurants in Western Pennsylvania by 2028

Chick-fil-A announced on September 21 a plan to open nine ...

little caesars storefront by daylight
Little Caesars Targets New Jersey with New Franchise Development Deal

Little Caesars is moving deeper into the New York metro ...

modern wendys restaurant with patio and parking lot
Meritage Hospitality Files Chapter 11: What It Means for the Wendy’s Franchise System

Meritage Hospitality Group, one of the largest Wendy’s franchisees in ...