Opens in a new tab
icon / 24x24 / ic24-trending-up

Most searched right now

Red Robin Gourmet Burgers

Non-Client of L'Express FranchiseRed Robin. YUM!

Financial Plan

Liquid capital

The amount you need to secure the necessary loans.

Not disclosed

Total investment

Total Investment to launch the business, including initial fees ($35,000)

Not disclosed

The Concept

Red Robin Gourmet Burgers is a U.S. casual-dining restaurant brand known for gourmet burgers, bottomless fries and a broad menu of burgers, salads, appetizers, entrées, desserts and beverages. Founded in 1969, the brand operates under the name Red Robin Gourmet Burgers and Brews and serves guests through dine-in, takeout, delivery and catering.

Red Robin has historically operated a predominantly company-owned system, but the company is now accelerating refranchising as part of its “First Choice Plan.” In 2026, Red Robin completed the sale of 108 restaurants to experienced multi-unit operators, converting those locations to franchised restaurants. As of the latest reported year-end 2025 figures, the system had 475 restaurants, including 90 franchised locations.

Important: Red Robin’s current FAQ says it is not currently offering franchise opportunities to new applicants. Its 2026 FDD nevertheless exists because the company continues to have franchise agreements with existing and newly converted operators.

red robin gourmet burgers logo

Frequently Asked Questions

Red Robin’s 2026 FDD does not disclose a total initial investment range. It lists an initial franchise fee of $35,000, but the company does not currently publish a complete investment estimate for prospective new franchisees. Because Red Robin is not currently accepting new franchise applications, potential costs would need to be confirmed directly with the company or its franchise advisors.

Red Robin does not currently publish a standard financial qualification threshold for new applicants because new franchise opportunities are not currently being offered. The franchisees brought into the system in 2026 are experienced multi-unit restaurant operators, including operators acquiring significant portfolios of existing Red Robin restaurants.

er the 2026 FDD, franchisees pay a 5% royalty on gross sales. Advertising obligations are capped at 4% of gross sales, covering national, regional and local advertising programs.

Red Robin does not provide an Item 19 financial performance representation in its 2026 FDD. Consequently, there is no officially disclosed franchisee average annual revenue or AUV that can be used as a verified benchmark.

Yes. Red Robin’s current franchise network includes large multi-unit operators, and its 2026 refranchising strategy has specifically involved experienced operators acquiring multiple restaurants. For example, Op Burgers agreed to acquire 69 restaurants, while Kuber acquired 17 and Evergreen Dining acquired 30.

You represent Red Robin Gourmet Burgers?

Complete the missing information and review your details.

Latest News from RED ROBIN

 
red robin restaurant exterior with bright red facade

Red Robin Closes $115 Million Credit Facility as Refranchising Cycle Ends

Red Robin Gourmet Burgers completed a $115 million refinancing on October 2, 2026, closing a new five-year credit facility led by JPMorgan Chase that matures in October 2031. The casual-dining franchise chain says the refinancing provides greater financial flexibility to support its turnaround plan. The transaction follows the completion of…

View all news

Close Icon