Opens in a new tab
icon / 24x24 / ic24-trending-up

Most searched right now

Can You Open a Voodoo Doughnut Shop in the U.S. in 2026 ?

4 Min. reading time
voodoo doughnut ufo display with spooky donuts
© Voodoo Doughnut - linkedin.com/voodoo-doughnut/images

Founded in a single Portland storefront in 2003, Voodoo Doughnut ran 24 shops across nine states by October 2025. That network grew on the company’s own capital and on private equity backing, not on franchisees. This article covers what the brand is, how it is structured, and which U.S. donut chains do sell franchises in the U.S.


The pink boxes travel further than the shops do. Voodoo Doughnut is one of the most photographed food brands in the country, yet its footprint stays small next to the national donut chains. Searches for a Voodoo Doughnut franchise hit the same wall every time: the company publishes no franchise offer.

Voodoo Doughnut opened in 2003 in Old Town, Portland, Oregon. Founders Kenneth “Cat Daddy” Pogson and Tres Shannon had noticed that downtown Portland had no doughnut shop, and took a small storefront between two nightclubs. By the company’s own account, national media picked up the story within the first month.

What followed built the brand: more than 35 handcrafted creations including a vegan line, near round-the-clock hours, the pink box, and items such as the Bacon Maple Bar. Coverage ran from the Travel Channel and Good Morning America to People, GQ and Food & Wine, alongside appearances in Portlandia. The shops became destinations in their own right.

Growth accelerated once outside capital arrived. San Francisco private equity firm Fundamental Capital took a majority stake in 2017, and the chain moved from six locations to 24 shops in nine states by October 2025.

No, Voodoo Doughnut does not operate as a franchise system

Its website carries a menu, a locations page, catering and careers, but no franchising section of any kind. There is no published Franchise Disclosure Document and no application process for prospective operators. Under the FTC Franchise Rule (16 CFR Part 436), a franchise combines a trademark licence, significant control or assistance, and a required payment. Voodoo Doughnut markets no such arrangement to the public.

How Voodoo Doughnut is structured and operates

The company is privately held, with Fundamental Capital in the majority position since 2017. In November 2024, Tamarix Capital Partners announced a financing alongside Fundamental Capital, describing 21 locations at that date and stating that the money would let it “further execute organic growth initiatives by continuing to open new locations across the country”. In a franchise system, that expansion capital comes from franchisees instead.

Each new market is announced by the company and staffed through its own hiring, as with the Dallas store announced in 2023 with roughly 75 local jobs attached. Chris Schultz served as CEO from 2018 until October 2025.

Good to know

Some Voodoo Doughnut counters sit inside airports and theme parks. These are concession partnerships, not franchises. The shop at Denver International Airport, opened in October 2022, was brought in by JAF Concessions, a certified airport concessions operator. At Nashville International Airport, the counter opened in September 2023 in partnership with the restaurant group Strategic Hospitality. Both start from a concessions contract with the host venue.

Several established donut chains do sell franchises in the United States and publish their requirements. Some examples below:

DonutNV

Logo

DonutNV

America’s Premier Interactive Mobile Donut Franchise

  • Restaurant
  • Not disclosed
  • Liquid capital: $Not disclosed

I want more info

Randy’s Donuts

Logo

Randy’s Donuts

Handmade Since 1952™

  • Restaurant
  • Not disclosed
  • Liquid capital: $Not disclosed

I want more info

Fractured Prune Doughnuts

Logo

Fractured Prune Doughnuts

Always Hot Doughnuts. All Ways

  • Donut
  • Not disclosed
  • Liquid capital: $200000

I want more info

Dunkin’

Logo

Dunkin’

America Runs on Dunkin’

  • Donut
  • Not disclosed
  • Liquid capital: $

I want more info

How to read a donut franchise cost figure

No public source produces an average U.S. franchise start-up cost. The citable number for a given brand is Item 7 of its current Franchise Disclosure Document, which breaks the range down line by line and includes additional funds for the initial period. Item 5 gives the initial fee, Item 6 the recurring ones. Filing an FDD is disclosure, not government approval.

An independent doughnut shop is the other route in this sector. It carries no trademark licence, no royalty and no franchisor support. Voodoo Doughnut began that way in 2003.


Frequently asked questions about opening a Voodoo Doughnut shop

Voodoo Doughnut publishes no franchise offer and no purchase process for individual operators. Its shops are opened by the company, which is majority-owned by Fundamental Capital. The only route it advertises publicly is employment, through its careers page.

The company reported 24 stores across nine states in October 2025, up from six in 2018, with openings announced in Bellevue, Miami and New York City. That count includes airport and theme park counters run through concession partnerships.

This content is provided for informational purposes only and does not constitute legal, tax, financial, or professional advice. Laws and regulations vary by state and individual circumstances and may change over time. Readers should consult a qualified attorney, tax professional, or other licensed professional regarding their specific situation. Nothing herein creates an attorney-client relationship.

You may also like

true food kitchen exterior with modern glass facade
True Food Kitchen Files Chapter 11 With $42 Million in Debt and 12 Locations Closed

True Food Kitchen, the health-focused casual dining chain founded in ...

starbucks storefront sign with modern exterior
Starbucks Officially Rules Out Chipotle Acquisition

Three weeks after the Financial Times reported that Starbucks was ...

professional team portrait in modern lounge
Savory Fund Closes Oversubscribed $201.5 Million Fund III to Scale Emerging Restaurant Brands

Private equity firm Savory Fund has closed its third restaurant ...

façade starbucks coffee ensoleillée au style méditerranéen
Starbucks Eyes Chipotle: A Potential $80 Billion Deal That Could Change American Franchising

Update – October 12, 2026 Starbucks has officially denied any ...

official governor portrait with flag and seal
Senate Confirms Sonderling as Secretary of Labor: Franchise Joint Employer Rule Holds

The US Senate confirmed Keith Sonderling as the 31st Secretary ...

under sink plumbing repair with hands tightening fitting
Jobs That Won’t Be Replaced by AI in the U.S. in 2026

The U.S. economy is projected to add 5.9 million jobs ...

business handshake and document review
New SBA Lending Rules for Franchise Acquisitions Take Effect October 1, 2026

New SBA lending rules taking effect October 1, 2026, will ...

united states capitol front facade and dome
Trump Administration Backs American Franchise Act as 2026 Priority

The Trump administration has declared the American Franchise Act a ...

tattooed man with phone and red drink
Opus Training Platform: How It Helps Franchises Streamline Training and Operations

Franchise networks hire, train and replace frontline staff continuously, often ...

summer fruit smoothie toast with watermelon slices
How to Start a Juice Bar and Smoothie Business in the U.S. in 2026: Costs, Licenses & Step-by-Step Guide

The juice bar industry has grown 5.3% annually over the ...