icon / 24x24 / ic24-trending-up

Most searched right now

Smoothie King

Non-Client of L'Express FranchiseSmoothies With A Purpose®

Financial Plan

Liquid capital

The amount you need to secure the necessary loans.

$175,000

Total investment

Total Investment to launch the business, including initial fees (Not disclosed)

Not disclosed

The Concept

Smoothie King was founded in New Orleans in 1973 and began franchising in 1989. The brand describes itself as the original smoothie franchise in the United States. Its menu centers on purpose-driven smoothies alongside bowls and other food items, with an emphasis on nutrition and active lifestyles.

The company operates more than 1,250 locations in the United States, according to its current franchise website. It offers several store formats, including inline/end-cap locations and freestanding drive-thru units, allowing franchisees to pursue different real-estate models.

Smoothie King also has a relatively structured training program. The current franchise FAQ describes five weeks of training divided between orientation, management training and on-site support. The company recommends approximately nine to 12 employees per store.

smoothie king logo on white background

Frequently Asked Questions

The current estimated investment for an inline or end-cap Smoothie King ranges from $346,350 to $679,465. A freestanding drive-thru requires a higher investment of approximately $661,150–$1,277,650.

The franchise fee is $30,000. Smoothie King currently lists minimum liquidity of $175,000 on its franchise process page and a minimum net worth of $350,000.

The investment varies according to the format, real-estate costs and construction requirements. Candidates should use the latest FDD for their specific market and store type.

Smoothie King charges an ongoing 6% operating fee based on monthly gross sales, subject to a $500 monthly minimum.

The brand also charges a 3% national marketing contribution and requires franchisees to spend an additional 2% of weekly gross sales on local store marketing. A technology contribution of $200 per month is also currently listed.

These costs should be incorporated into any franchisee’s financial projections alongside rent, labor, food costs, insurance and other operating expenses.

Smoothie King’s current Item 19 disclosure states that the top 50% of traditional franchised units averaged $828,761 in gross sales in 2025. The calculation covers 544 qualifying units, of which 229 reached or exceeded that average.

This is specifically a top-50% average, rather than an average across the entire franchise system. It should therefore not be presented as the expected revenue for a new franchise.

The disclosure is also based on traditional franchised units operating for the entire calendar year, so the results may not apply directly to newer, non-traditional or drive-thru locations.

The company lists strong business acumen and a track record of success among its desired qualifications. Restaurant, sales, marketing or retail experience can be useful, although the company does not state that restaurant experience is mandatory.

The financial qualifications include liquidity, net worth and a credit score of at least 700.

Smoothie King also supports both single-unit and multi-unit ownership, making the model applicable to first-time operators as well as experienced franchise investors.

The current program consists of approximately five weeks of training. This includes one day of orientation, four weeks of management training at a corporate training facility and five days of on-site training around the store opening.

The company also provides ongoing operational and technology support. Its franchise materials emphasize standardized systems designed to simplify store management and monitor unit performance.

You represent Smoothie King?

Complete the missing information and review your details.

Close Icon