icon / 24x24 / ic24-trending-up

Most searched right now

Mr. Charlie’s Told Me So

Non-Client of L'Express FranchiseTurn That Frown Upside Down™

Financial Plan

Liquid capital

The amount you need to secure the necessary loans.

Not disclosed

Total investment

Total Investment to launch the business, including initial fees (Not disclosed)

Not disclosed

The Concept

Mr. Charlie’s Told Me So is a plant-based fast-food concept founded around the idea of making meat-free eating accessible, fun and flavorful. Its menu includes plant-based burgers, chicken alternatives, nuggets, breakfast sandwiches, fries and other meatless products. The brand positions itself as more than a restaurant, combining plant-based food with a strong emphasis on community, sustainability and social impact.

The company operates restaurants and also has a food-truck format for events and catering. Mr. Charlie’s says its mission is to demonstrate that fast food can be “ethical, joyful, and full of purpose,” while creating welcoming spaces and providing opportunities for people who have faced barriers to employment. The concept is currently in an early stage of franchising, with the 2025 FDD reporting only two company-owned U.S. restaurants and no franchised units at that time.

In 2025, the company announced an 18-store expansion agreement in Arizona, signaling its intention to accelerate its U.S. franchise expansion. The company said franchise opportunities were available in selected U.S. states where it was licensed to franchise.

mrcharlie’s yellow logo with trademark

Frequently Asked Questions

The investment depends heavily on the restaurant format and the specific market. Data from the 2025 FDD indicates an estimated investment of approximately $283,000 to $698,000, including a $35,000 franchise fee. A newer April 2026 FDD listing gives a much wider range of approximately $281,000 to $1.16 million, suggesting that costs can differ substantially depending on the format and development requirements. Prospective franchisees should therefore rely on the most recent FDD supplied directly by the franchisor.

The 2025 FDD reports an initial franchise fee of $35,000 and an ongoing royalty of 5% of gross sales. Franchisees also contribute 2% of gross sales to the marketing/ad fund. The newer 2026 FDD appears to contain different fee structures depending on the applicable format, so these figures should be verified against the current FDD before making an investment decision.

There is currently no reliable average franchisee revenue figure, because the system was still extremely small in the available FDD reporting period. The FDD’s Item 19 data covered only two company-owned restaurants, which reported average gross sales of approximately $1.395 million. These figures represent company-owned locations and therefore should not be interpreted as an expected financial result for a new franchisee.

Mr. Charlie’s official location page currently lists U.S. restaurants in Brentwood, Hillcrest, Hollywood, Pacific Beach and San Francisco, as well as an international location in Sydney. The latest FDD data available through third-party FDD databases, however, reported two U.S. company-owned outlets and no franchised outlets for the reporting period. The difference is likely attributable to reporting dates and the evolution of the system, so the current official location page is better for a present-day location count, while the FDD should be used for historical franchise-system data.

The concept is built entirely around plant-based food, with burgers, chicken alternatives, nuggets and breakfast products designed to recreate familiar fast-food experiences without traditional meat. Beyond its menu, the brand places considerable emphasis on sustainability, community and social impact. Its stated mission is to make conscious food choices more accessible while creating inclusive spaces and employment opportunities.

You represent Mr. Charlie’s Told Me So?

Complete the missing information and review your details.

Close Icon