icon / 24x24 / ic24-trending-up

Most searched right now

Lightbridge Academy

Non-Client of L'Express FranchiseMake a difference in early education and child care

Financial Plan

Liquid capital

The amount you need to secure the necessary loans.

Not disclosed

Total investment

Total Investment to launch the business, including initial fees (Not disclosed)

Not disclosed

The Concept

Lightbridge Academy is an early-education and childcare franchise founded in 1997, with franchising beginning in 2011. The company serves children from approximately six weeks through kindergarten, with additional programs for older children. Its model combines early education with full-day childcare and places particular emphasis on family engagement and safety.

The brand is built around its Circle of Care® philosophy, bringing together children, parents, staff, franchise owners and the surrounding community. Lightbridge also uses proprietary curriculum and technology such as ParentView® monitoring and its communication platform. The franchisor currently reports 200+ centers open or in development, although the latest FDD counted 92 total outlets at year-end 2025.

lightbridge academy logo with colorful icon

Frequently Asked Questions

The 2026 FDD estimates a leased center at $834,868 to $1,409,735. The initial franchise fee is $50,000. Purchasing land and building a center requires substantially more capital.

Lightbridge therefore targets entrepreneurs with significantly more capital than many home-based or small educational franchises.

The 2026 FDD reports $2,640,681 average gross revenue among 62 mature centers. The median was approximately $2.56 million.

The franchisor also discloses EBITDA data. The average EBITDA for the mature-center group was $404,324, while the top quartile averaged $751,812.

The standard royalty is 7% of gross revenue, with a reduced 4% rate during the first six months of operation. The brand-development contribution is 2%.

This introductory royalty reduction is intended to provide some financial relief while a new center builds enrollment.

The latest FDD reports 92 total outlets, of which 68 were franchised and 24 company-owned. The company website currently reports 93 operating centers and 117 in development, so the public pipeline is considerably larger than the latest FDD outlet count.

Lightbridge does not position prior childcare experience as the central qualification. Its franchise materials emphasize business-management skills, commitment to children and families, and willingness to follow the operating system. The franchisor provides more than 262 hours of training plus ongoing coaching.

You represent Lightbridge Academy?

Complete the missing information and review your details.

Close Icon