icon / 24x24 / ic24-trending-up

Most searched right now

Great American Cookies

Non-Client of L'Express FranchiseHome of the Original Cookie Cake

Financial Plan

Liquid capital

The amount you need to secure the necessary loans.

Not disclosed

Total investment

Total Investment to launch the business, including initial fees ($25,000)

Not disclosed

The Concept

Great American Cookies is an established U.S. cookie franchise founded in Atlanta in 1977. The brand is best known for its freshly baked cookies and Original Cookie Cake, alongside brownies, Double Doozies and other desserts. Its stores have traditionally operated in shopping malls and other high-traffic retail environments. The brand is part of FAT Brands’ portfolio.

The system has more than 370 franchised units across the U.S. and internationally, with a particularly strong presence in the Southeast and Texas. The 2025 FDD reported 395 outlets at the end of 2024, all franchised.

For prospective franchisees, Great American Cookies offers a more established operating history than newer gourmet-cookie concepts. However, the brand’s parent company, FAT Brands, entered Chapter 11 bankruptcy proceedings in January 2026, and a group of Great American Cookies franchisees has raised objections concerning supply costs and other issues in the bankruptcy case. This is an important point for potential investors to investigate before signing.

great american cookies logo in pink and script

Frequently Asked Questions

The 2025 FDD estimates a total investment of approximately $340,500–$462,650 for the disclosed traditional format. The initial franchise fee is $25,000. Different formats, including non-traditional and satellite locations, can have different investment requirements.

The concept can suit both single-unit and multi-unit operators, particularly entrepreneurs comfortable with retail food operations, staffing and high-volume customer service. The brand’s mall and high-traffic retail heritage also makes site selection and location management particularly important.

The 2025 FDD reports average 2024 net sales of $539,902 for 256 qualifying restaurants, with significant variation between locations. These are sales figures, not franchisee profit.

Franchisees pay a 6% royalty plus a 2% marketing/brand fund contribution, before other operating expenses.

In addition to the brand’s established footprint, investors should carefully review the current financial position of FAT Brands and the ongoing bankruptcy proceedings. Franchisee groups have raised concerns over supply costs and contractual matters, making conversations with current franchisees particularly important.

You represent Great American Cookies?

Complete the missing information and review your details.

Close Icon